Snoring Program Melbourne 止鼾

Snoring Program Melbourne 止鼾

Stop snoring止鼾

呼吸时,喉咙后面的细软组织会震动发声,也就是鼾声。这块组织在人体入睡时会更加柔软,所以有人睡觉时会打鼾。我们通过激光或射频设备减少、收缩上颚相关组织,通过几次治疗而止鼾。

 

打鼾的诱因包括特定药物、酒精、吸烟、生病、鼻腔生长或堵塞等。体重过重是打鼾的重要原因之一。

Laser snoring treatments 激光止鼾治疗

市面上有一些激光止鼾的治疗仪器,比如安眠(SleepTight)激光仪和罗密欧(Romeo)激光仪。安眠激光仪被推崇为“效果立现”。这两种仪器的工作原理相同,都是通过紧致上颚柔软组织来止鼾。在Enrich,我们推荐使用罗密欧激光仪

The negative impacts of snoring 打鼾的危害

尽管人们一般以开玩笑的口吻来谈论打鼾,但是曾和打鼾者有同屋经验的人会了解,打鼾会严重影响睡眠质量。因为呼吸通道不畅,所以打鼾者本人的睡眠质量也不好。打鼾问题不仅是声音吵闹这么简单。

打鼾的人易感到疲劳,好好睡一觉也常觉得休息不够。如果睡醒后觉得自己没有得到充足的休息,可能意味着深睡眠不足,睡眠质量不高。

成人打鼾的原因

打鼾的诱因很多,一个打鼾的人身上可能有一个多个原因。

 

  1. 鼻腔性状和鼻塞:呼吸通道不畅时很可能会打鼾。可能是过敏或感染引发的暂时性打鼾,也可能是鼻腔形状大小的非正常性导致的永久性打鼾。
  2. 舌头和喉咙肌肉较低:人体口腔和喉咙有一定量的肌肉。如果这些肌肉过于松弛,就会阻碍呼吸通道的畅通。酒精和安眠药可能会暂时性的让肌肉松弛,但一般与年龄有关。
  3. 喉咙组织多余:体重过重可能会导致多余的颈部脂肪,这样睡觉时呼吸通道受到来自颈部脂肪的压力过大,导致打鼾。人体在直立和躺下的时候,对重力的反应有很大差别。扁桃体或淋巴过大也会产生影响,尽管一般都是暂时性的。
  4. 松弛的小舌和上颚: 如果这些部位过于柔软,就会压迫呼吸通道,导致打鼾。

Women and snoring 女性的打鼾问题

寻求止鼾治疗的女性难以置信地少。这并不是因为女性不打鼾,而是因为女性天生比男性的颈部组织器官要小,所以鼾声更轻。但是女性的打鼾问题几乎被忽视了,有时这会导致严重的后果。长期疲劳对所有人的长期身心危害都不可忽视。

Men and snoring男性的打鼾问题

由于颈部器官组织的大小、形状和重量问题,男性比女性或儿童的鼾声更大,打鼾也更频繁。睡眠中下垂的组织越多,鼾声越大,呼吸越受阻碍,造成的身体危害也就更大。

Children and snoring 儿童的打鼾问题

听上去儿童打鼾似乎不是个大问题,反而有点可爱。但其实那往往是呼吸道感染或堵塞的标志。长期规律的儿童打鼾,无论鼾声大小,都要注意观察。由于儿童颈部的器官组织通常小而紧致,儿童打鼾是反常的。所以打鼾可能是鼻腔或其他组织有问题。

儿童打鼾也可能是一些常见情况导致的,比如流感、风寒、耳朵感染或鼻窦炎等。

Radiofrequency and laser snoring treatments 激光/射频止鼾

通过几次激光或射频治疗,减少咽喉组织量,紧致上颚肌肉,我们可以有效减轻或彻底解决打鼾问题。

Who does snoring affect? 打鼾现象

打鼾困扰着超过60% 的人们,更常见于男性。随着年龄增长,肌肉组织松弛,打鼾会更加严重。

Nasal obstructions and snoring 鼻塞与打鼾

人体口腔、鼻腔和咽喉的组织和相互关系非常复杂,很多日常终于功能都依赖于呼吸道、口腔和面部器官,比如进食、呼吸、说话和做面部表情等。

呼吸道不畅包括息肉、膈膜分离、慢性鼻窦炎或鼻塞。鼻塞会导致白天疲累发困,晚上打鼾;也就是说,鼻塞会对整个睡眠周期产生不利影响,拉长快速眼动睡眠间隔,增加快速眼动睡眠。仅鼻塞不会导致呼吸暂停,舌头的大小、口腔和下巴的肌肉活动等都有一定影响。

Laser snoring treatment with the Romeo laser 罗密欧激光止鼾仪器

罗密欧激光止鼾仪器通过小心提高上颚和结缔组织温度,使其变薄,从而减少震动和打鼾现象。

在治疗之前,我们要进行详细的打鼾检查。可能会进行睡眠检测,确保排除堵塞性睡眠呼吸暂停症的可能性。

整个止鼾治疗大约为半小时,无需恢复期,马上就能回去工作。治疗当晚打鼾可能会更加严重,这属于正常情况。之后组织器官会开始收紧,效果也会明显。治疗前两小时内请勿进食或饮水,治疗后48小时内忌生冷。我们建议治疗前一天内要不要参加体育锻炼。

Snoring?
Stop.
Contact us

BEFORE & AFTER

After laser snoring treatments 治疗后

激光治疗后,喉咙会发干、发痒或肿胀。这都是正常情况,通常24到48小时内就会退去。如果需要可以吃非处方止痛药。止鼾治疗很少见副作用。有时喉咙过于肿胀,呼吸收到严重影响,需要紧急送医治疗。但这个可能性极小。任何喉咙的不可控性肿胀都很危险。

治疗结束一周后,打鼾会开始减轻。第二次治疗一般在一个月后,然后每年或每半年需要一次治疗以保证效果。治疗可以改善打鼾60%,尽管这个治疗更像是技术控制而非医疗。疗效因个人体质的不同会有变化。

The research into laser snoring treatments 激光止鼾治疗研究

最新研究表明激光可以有效治疗打鼾和睡眠呼吸暂停症,患者也表示是接受的。各人的反应不尽相同,但是普遍认为是成功有效的。所有人都认为睡眠质量和打鼾情况改善了很多,满意度也很高。人们也都认为治疗所用的激光几乎是无痛的。

 

一项对有21名打鼾患者,接受三次激光治疗的调查显示,患者认为第一次治疗后打鼾情况下降了30% – 60%,而第二次治疗后下降了50% – 90%。

一项波兰的调查也显示,74%的患者对激光治疗给出好的评价,打鼾程度平均下降了大约50%。激光治疗被认为是“高效安全,激进性相对较小”的治疗方式。

 

如今人们普遍认为激光和射频治疗是行之有效的方法。在技术水平上,我们有丰富的经验和良好的口碑,提供安全有效,快速舒适的激光治疗。

2018-12-11T02:09:04+00:00

Snoring Program Melbourne

Snoring Program Melbourne

Stop snoring

Snoring is the sound of the soft tissue at the back of your throat vibrating as you breathe. Relaxed tissue tends to be softer and more pliable than when you are awake, and therefore you only snore while you’re asleep. Snoring treatment options at our Melbourne clinic include lasers or radiofrequency devices that tighten and reduce this tissue in the upper palate, and over several anti-snoring treatments, stop snoring. There are anti snoring solutions.

Snoring can be triggered by the impacts of some medications, alcohol, smoking, illness and nasal growths or obstructions (like polyps). Being overweight can also heavily contribute to snoring.

Laser snoring treatments and anti snoring solutions

There are several laser snoring treatment devices used to reduce or stop snoring, including the SleepTight laser treatment and Romeo laser snoring treatments. The SleepTight laser treatment for snoring was featured on A Current Affair, with high profile NRL star Mark Geyer explaining that he had ‘almost immediate results’. The Romeo laser and the SleepTight laser snoring treatment work in the same way to tighten soft palate tissue and stop snoring. At ENRICH Clinic in Melbourne, we prefer to use the Romeo laser.

The negative impacts of snoring

We most often talk about snoring in joking terms, but anyone who’s had to sleep next to a snorer for any period knows just how destructive snoring is to a good night’s sleep. This applies to the snorer too, since their airway is being obstructed and therefore it’s not just the noise that’s disturbing; it’s the whole snoring process.

Snorers may find themselves increasingly tired, with a restful night’s sleep always a little out of reach. Waking up feeling less than refreshed could be a sign that your sleep is not as deep and rejuvenating as it might be.

Specific causes of snoring in adults and anti snoring treatments
There are several different causes of snoring, with your snoring possibly being one or more of these factors.

  1. Nose anatomy and nasal blockage: When your airways are blocked, you will make a snoring sound. This could be temporary (allergies, infections) or more serious/permanent nostril size, shape or anatomical abnormalities.
  2. Low tone in the tongue and throat muscles: your mouth and throat are made up partially of muscles, and if these muscles relax too much, they can collapse your airways, which results in snoring. Muscle relaxation can occur temporarily from alcohol or insomnia medication, and from general tissue laxity as occurs as we age.
  3. Excess throat tissue: If you are overweight, you likely have excess fat around your neck and this can lead to extra pressure on your airways during sleep. Standing upright and lying down are very different things when it comes to gravity. Oversized tonsils or adenoids can also become an issue, though typically only temporarily.
  4. Loose uvula and soft palate: the soft palate and possibly the uvula (the dangly bit at the back of your throat) can be too soft, narrowing the airway and causing snoring due to contact of the uvula on the throat and soft palate.

Women and snoring

Women who snore are being treated at alarmingly low rates. This is not because women don’t snore – they do – but because they tend to snore more softly than men due to the different size and shape of the neck and neck tissue. Women’s snoring is typically overlooked and not considered problem snoring, but indeed having sometimes very negative consequences. Being tired all the time has far-reaching consequences for a body and mind in either gender.

Men and snoring

Men tend to snore louder and more frequently than women or children due to the size, shape and weight of the neck area. The more tissue that relaxes onto the trachea during sleep, the bigger the snore and the greater the obstruction. This results in greater negative impacts during waking hours.

Children and snoring

Children snoring may sound cute, but it’s almost always a sign of an infection or an airway issue that needs addressing with some urgency. Soft or loud, persistent, regular snoring in children needs to be investigated, since it is abnormal – the tissue around the neck and throat in kids is small and tight, meaning that snoring is coming from unusual causes or tissue formations. This could mean the tonsils or other areas need treatment.

Snoring in children can also be isolated to certain normal events, such as colds and flu, ear infections and sinus issues.

Radiofrequency and laser snoring treatments

We use radiofrequency and laser treatments for snoring, with our SnoreLess program. The aim of the anti-snoring treatments in our SnoreLess program is to reduce the tissue volume while tightening the soft palate. Over the course of a few treatments, this effectively reduces or eliminates snoring.

Who does snoring affect?

Snoring affects over 60 per cent of us, but is more common in men than women. Snoring also gets worse as we age, due to tissue laxity.

Nasal obstructions and snoring

The structure and inter-dependencies of the mouth, nose and throat are complex, since our respiratory tract, mouth and facial structures have a lot of demands laid upon them every day for vital functions: breathing, eating, talking and facial expressions.

Nasal obstructions might include polyps, a deviated septum, chronic sinusitis or nasal congestion. Nasal congestion has been implicated in snoring, causing daytime sleepiness and an increase in snoring. This obstruction has a negative effect on the sleep cycle, since it can elongate the time between REM sleep and increase non-REM sleep. These obstructions alone, however, do not cause sleep apnoea. The size of the tongue may contribute to obstructive sleep apnoea, but other ideas include muscle responses of the mouth and jaw.

Obstructive sleep apnoea

Obstructive sleep apnoea is a more serious condition than just snoring alone whereby a person stops breathing during sleep, then restarts spontaneously. This leaves us without oxygen for a short period of time, causing a specific reaction in the body to get us breathing again. Sleep apnoea is treated differently to snoring, and must be investigated and ruled out by any snorer.

Laser snoring treatment with the Romeo laser – Melbourne Clinic

The Romeo laser targets the soft palate and uvula, heating this tissue very carefully and precisely to tighten it. This reduces the vibration and snoring.

Prior to this treatment, investigations will need to be made into the nature of your snoring, which might include sleep studies to rule out obstructive sleep apnoea.

The Romeo laser treatments for snoring at our Melbourne clinic take about half an hour, with no downtime – return to work immediately after if you wish. That night snoring may be worse, which is normal – soon you will feel the difference after snoring laser surgery, since the treatments exert their effect over time to tighten tissue. You should avoid food and drink for two hours prior to your treatment, and have no cold food or drinks for 48 hours. We also sometimes recommend no exercise the day before and of your snoring laser surgery.

Snoring?
Stop.
Contact us

BEFORE & AFTER

After laser snoring treatments – Melbourne clinic

Your throat might feel dry, scratchy or swollen after your snoring medical treatments. This is completely normal and will dissipate within 24-48 hours. You may take over-the-counter pain relief if required. There are rarely any negative impacts or side-effects from this snoring treatment. An example of a problematic outcome would be swelling of the throat which could impact breathing and needs immediately medical attention. Though very rare, any uncontrolled swelling is dangerous when it concerns the throat.

After about a week, snoring starts to improve, with another snoring laser treatment performed a month later, and maintenance treatments may be required annually or bi-annually. Snoring can usually be improved by about 60 per cent, though it must be stressed that this is not a cure for snoring, but a management technique. Each of you has your own nasal and throat structures, so individual results will be somewhat varied.

The research into laser snoring treatments

A pilot study into reducing snoring and sleep apnoea using lasers found that the laser snoring treatments were effective and very well tolerated by patients. Responses were quite variable, but overall the treatment was considered successful. All patients reported an improvement in sleep quality as well as snoring, with high satisfaction levels reported. All patients reported the anti-snoring medical treatments were virtually painless.

Another snoring study looked at resolving or managing snoring in 21 people, using three anti-snoring laser treatments.  Patients evaluated the average snoring reduction after the first session to be between 30 and 60 per cent and between 50-90 per cent after the second session.

A Polish study found that 74 per cent of patients responded favourably to the anti-snoring treatment, with an average improvement in snoring severity of about 50 per cent. The laser under study was found to be ‘effective, minimally invasive and safe’ for treating snoring.

The efficacy of laser snoring treatment options and radiofrequency devices is now well-established, and while the techniques are evolving, we have a good basis for anti-snoring laser treatment that is safe, effective, and best of all, fast and comfortable.

Snoring operations

In some cases, our stop snoring treatment and snoring program won’t be enough and a snoring operation may be required to alter the nasal passages. Stop snoring surgery can be an excellent solution, however stop snoring surgery is not required in most cases.

Speak to your doctor about your stop snoring treatment options.

2018-08-20T13:04:10+00:00